WHEN WE WERE BIRDS

WHEN WE WERE BIRDS

BANWO, AYANNA LLOYD

15,00 €
IVA incluido
Entrega 7 - 10 días
Editorial:
HAMISH HAMILTON
Materia
General fiction
ISBN:
978-0-241-99163-3
15,00 €
IVA incluido
Entrega 7 - 10 días
Añadir a favoritos

Mesmerising, mythic and timeless, the most unmissable debut novel of 2022 now out in paperback - for fans of Arundhati Roy, Toni Morrison and Monique RoffeyRecommended Read for 2022 in the Observer, New Statesman, Irish Times, Buzzfeed, Good Housekeeping, The Daily Nerd, Essence and more'BELIEVE THE HYPE' Stella'A searing symphony of magic and loss, love and hope' Marlon James'A mesmerising love story, achingly tender' Bolu BabalolaDarwin is a down-on-his-luck gravedigger, newly arrived in the Trinidadian city of Port Angeles to seek his fortune, young and beautiful and lost. Estranged from his mother and the Rastafari faith she taught him, he is convinced that the father he never met may be waiting for him somewhere amid these bustling streets. Meanwhile in an old house on a hill, where the city meets the rainforest, Yejide's mother is dying.

And she is leaving behind a legacy that now passes to Yejide: the power to talk to the dead. The women of Yejide's family are human but also not - descended from corbeau, the black birds that fly east at sunset, taking with them the souls of the dead. Darwin and Yejide both have something that the other needs.

Their destinies are intertwined, and they will find one another in the sprawling, ancient cemetery at the heart of the island, where trouble is brewing... Rich with magic and wisdom, When We Were Birds is an exuberant masterpiece that conjures and mesmerises on every line. Ayanna Lloyd Banwo weaves an unforgettable story of loss and renewal, darkness and light; a triumphant reckoning with a grief that runs back generations and a defiant, joyful affirmation of hope.

'Exceptional' Jacob Ross'Exquisite' Avni Doshi'It's a knockout, and Ayanna Lloyd Banwo is a star' Niven Govinden 'When We Were Birds marks the emergence of a distinctive and powerful voice' Pat Barker, author of The Silence of the Girls

Artículos relacionados

  • THIS OTHER EDEN
    HARDING, PAUL
    'Masterful . . .has much to say to our times' Guardian'Begs to be read' Spectator'A luminous, thought-provoking novel' Esi Edugyan, author of Washington BlackIn 1792, formerly enslaved Benjamin Honey and his Irish wife, Patience, discover an island where they can make a life together. More than a century later, the Honeys' descendants remain, with an eccentric, diverse band of ...
    Entrega 24hs - Pedidos hasta 1PM

    14,75 €

  • THE WOMEN
    HANNAH, KRISTIN
    From master storyteller Kristin Hannah, the multimillion-copy worldwide bestselling author of The Four Winds,The Women is set to be a sweeping story of the courage and resilience of women. It is the 1960s. America is at war with Vietnam. And seventeen-year-old Frankie McGrath is a sweet and innocent Californian good girl devoted to her family. But life changes in an instant whe...
    Entrega 24hs - Pedidos hasta 1PM

    21,25 €

  • CUDDY
    MYERS, BENJAMIN
    **Winner of the Goldsmiths Prize 2023****Shortlisted for the Winston Graham Historical Prize****Chosen as a book of the year 2023 by The Times, Guardian, Telegraph and New Statesman**‘An epic the north has long deserved’ FINANCIAL TIMES ‘A sensational piece of storytelling … A singular and significant achievement’ GUARDIAN‘Marvellous, artful, enchanted’ DAILY TELEGRAPH'Cements ...
    Entrega 24hs - Pedidos hasta 1PM

    14,75 €

  • IN MEMORIAM
    WINN, ALICE
    WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES NOVEL OF THE YEAR PRIZE 2023It was only because Gaunt knew he might die, that he could be so reckless as to kiss him. 'Assured, affecting and moving. Alice Winn has written a devastating love story between two young men on the Western Front' MAGGIE O'FARRELL, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF HAMNET______________________In 1914, war feels far away to Henry Gaunt a...
    Entrega 24hs - Pedidos hasta 1PM

    14,75 €

  • COME AND GET IT
    REID, KILEY
    I couldn t put it down, and I didn't want to either EMILY HENRY A page-turning pleasure stylish, sharp and breathtakingly smart DAISY BUCHANAN Everything comes at a price. But not everything can be paid for Millie wants to graduate, get a job and buy a house. She s slowly saving up from her job on campus, but when a visiting professor offers her an unusual opportunity to make s...
    Entrega 24hs - Pedidos hasta 1PM

    17,75 €

  • FINALE
    GARBER, STEPHANIE
    ***SPECIAL 5TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION***'Extravagantly imaginative and enchanting . . .Pure magic and escapism' Cecelia Ahern Sunday Times and #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber takes us once again to the magical world of Caraval, where Scarlett and Tella Dragna must fight for their happy endings. . .Caraval is over, but perhaps the greatest game of all has begu...
    Entrega 24hs - Pedidos hasta 1PM

    15,48 €